Editing Boss script's-Help

Let me start by saying yes I am new to this. I also hope thing is posted in the correct section. I am only here after hours of searching with no luck on how to edit a script that is already in place and some what working. I am not trying to creating a new script simply change/correct scripts that are already in place and sort of working mainly being timers for spell’s and abiltys. I am not a programer but have been though the guides and feel this is well with in what I am capable of doing. However after seaching though here and Ac-web I have yet to find any useful info regarding finding and editing an a current script. I will not assume to know any thing,what I have read only left more questions then answers.

In short what I am looking for is:

What program is used for editing scripts, if I do not have it where would I down load the program. If it is the program called Scripts_Converter what version of microsoft C++ Visual does it require to run. Mine try’s to open with 2010 and I get a incompatable file message.

Where can the script/scripts be found ? I find file’s that look like possable NPC sripts that are .obj files, are these correct and again what is used to open them to view.

How is the updated script placed back into the program to be used and are there any tools needed to make the new script work. Will simple changes to a script require changes to the Db ?

I know I am a noob and that is why I am asking, I would have been much happery if i could have found a post that covered this to avoid posting. I am a die hard wow fan and it breaks my heart to see these fights so far from the way they were ment to be and would like the chance to try and correct them myself.

You can edit them in notepad or any other text editor.

src\server\scripts\

and no, they’re .cpp files.

You will have to recompile trinitycore.

and no, simpile changes to a script won’t require changes to the DB.