advice on a complex quest chain

I’m doing a bit of custom work on my server and am setting up a new way to do profession quests. I think I’ve formulated the right way to structure the quests, but I thought I’d run it by the experts in here before writing the code to generate the quests.

Here’s the scenario:

There are 10 jewelcrafting skills to be gated by profession quests. Five are ‘novice’ skills and five are ‘advanced’ skills, which each advanced skill requiring a corresponding novice skill to be completed before it can be attempted.

Each profession trainer has some particular quest that he wants completed in his zone (Ex: “Go into Wailing Caverns and pry the Mysterious Gem of Mysteriousness from the cold, dead hands of Lord Serpentis.”). The reward for this quest can conceivably be any of the 10 skills, meaning that players can separate the skill they want to learn from the quest they need to perform.

Once the quest is complete, no more profession quests are available from that trainer. This is intended to spur the player to explore and find new trainers.

Here’s how I am setting it up:

1. Each skill has one completion quest associated with it which is completed once the action quest is completed and the skill is learned.

2. Each trainer has his own copy of “I want to learn this skill” breadcrumb quest for each of the 10 skills. These are all in the same ExclusiveGroup so that only one can be attempted per trainer. All breadcrumb quests will have NextQuestID set to the appropriate action quest from the trainer, and those for skills that have prerequisites will have a PrevQuestID set to the prereq skill’s completion quest id.