Npc Actions After Quest Completion

Hey guys,

wounder if anyone could possible help me, I would like to have an NPC that is a quest giver, say for example “Conservator Ilthalaine” who is in Shadowglen upon new Night Elf character arrivals and gives you your first couple of quests…

On retail, when you complete your first quest, he claps and then automatically gives you your second quest.

My problem is, I have been through the quest_template, creature, creature_template and creature_addon tables in the database, whilst following guidence of the wiki and the descriptions of the various fields and how they are linked and what they do, but I cannot make him clap on completing the quest.

Using the NPC above and the quest “The Balance Of Nature”, I changed in the quest_template table the column “CompleteEmote” to 21 which is the emote according to the Wiki for a “ONESHOT_APPLAUD”, but when I complete the quest, the NPC does NOT clap/applaud…

Please help, I am new to this database editing thing and would so very much like to learn so that I can find and fix things myself and share what I find, but after spending 5 hours digging through the database and linked tables etc, I am at a loss and think some help is required lol.

Thanks everyone in advance

Oh and one more thing, I was also trying to get an NPC to display a speech bubble above their head saying something when you get close to it and to display text from a selection of options I would like it to say randomly, but I did not have any joy with that either.

I was looking through the npc_text table for trying to do this, but had no luck. Any possible help?

You’ll have to make a script

Thanks Thatguy,

but, I don’t suppose you have any pointers for making such a script /emoticons/default_blink.png I am so very new to this, but once I have done it a couple of times I will pick it up real quick, its just that initial start thats stumped me /emoticons/default_blink.png